top of page

Neet Neilson

Author

"A word after a word after a word is power."

This quote from Margaret Atwood resonates with me. I write best when I'm emotionally driven and I have subliminal messages to share. Words can be very powerful whether used in a novel, a poem, song or a script and can be great drivers of change. 

I hope my writings make a difference, whether that be for entertainment, educating or for enlightenment.

neetpic.jpg

About Neet Neilson

Neet Neilson started writing as a child (Anita Russo). She often wrote poems and comics for the school magazine. At school, her careers guidance teacher directed her away from creative pursuits and towards a career in nursing. In her twenties, she self-published poems and short stories in anthologies. Neet found her creative niche in University Nurse Lecturing where she could write and deliver her own courses.

In 2012, Neet commenced her PhD in cancer studies. Alongside her studies, Neet wrote Your Disco Needs You - The Musical putting her mini scenes down on paper to produce a stage play. Using the music of Kylie Minogue integrated seamlessly with the dialogue, the musical tells an empowering story of five women coming together to save the local community dance class and at the same time help each other. The musical was staged in Glasgow in 2014 for charity under a PRS dramatico-musical license to immensely positive reviews, sell out shows, and standing ovations.

As the story was too good not to share, Neet self-published the script which you can read alongside a Kylie song playlist to get the whole picture of the story and credit the relevant artists at the same time. This story is not about Kylie and has no association with the artist. There are no lyrics in this script. The royalties for this script will go towards cancer charity.

Neet has also written romance novels, Hope and Sanctuary, first published by Dark Edge Press, then self-published and The Royale Jewels. All royalties for these romance books will go to Glendrick Roost Animal Welfare Sanctuary.

 

Neet's latest book, The Transition, is the first of a virus/ virology trilogy.

 

Neet has also co-authored a crime thriller series with her sister Marina. The first book called The Fix, was first published by Dark Edge Press and is due to be republished early 2023. With The Trade, the second book in The Canessa Sisters Series to be published later in 2023.

Neet Neilson is a member of The Society of Authors and of The Crime Writers Association.

M A Russo

Authors

Marina and Anita Russo - the sister collective.

marussoad.jpg
writerpartner.jpg

About M. A. Russo

M. A. Russo is the pseudonym for Marina Clement and Anita (Neet) Neilson, with their maiden name Russo. M. A. Russo are a sister collective, but you’d be forgiven for thinking they were one and the same. They both started their careers as nurses, with Marina gaining a Masters in Health Psychology and a Diploma in Clinical Hypnotherapy, and Anita as a University Nurse Lecturer with a Masters in Education and a PhD in Cancer Studies. These backgrounds fuel their writing.

Both are now commercial photographers by day and writers by night. They even have similar hobbies. They both love to run, hike, walk their dogs, grow their own veg and create spectacular vegan meals. Neither can sing well, a regret they both share, as do others around them.

Individually, Marina is passionate about lifelong learning, yoga, photographing nature and art. Anita loves shoemaking, screenwriting and composing songs on her guitar.

BOOKS

books.jpg

Your Disco Needs You!
- The Graphic Script

Screenshot 2022-06-27 at 16.08.48.png

"Five women, one dance, life changing effects." 

DanzGraceful’s owner Grace has been handed her eviction notice from the local dance studio. Desperate to find the money to keep her community dance class she decides to enter a major dance competition. But with dwindling participants, Grace puts a call out for help in her local newspaper. 

Immy is going through treatment for breast cancer and has been told running is too much, finding the advert for the dance class was just what she needed. Sophie has lost her job, lost her identity and lost confidence in herself. Tom her husband is an alcoholic and neglects Sophie to the point that she is desperate for something to fill her loneliness. The advert for the dance class gives her hope. Rosie has just broken up with her long-term girlfriend Liz, who bet her she wouldn’t find love in a room full of women. Rosie sees the dance class as an opportunity to prove her wrong. Jan has been with DanzGraceful since the beginning, and she’s been with Jim since the beginning of time! Well, that’s how it feels. Jim is so overprotective Jan feels suffocated in their relationship and she’s had enough. Encounters at the dance class invite some changes into Jan’s life. 

This story brings all these characters together as they help change and support each other to the emotional climax. 

Overall, this feel-good script is fast-paced and the Spotify Playlist link to the Kylie songs, that were embed seamlessly into the stage play musical to tell the story, will delight all Kylie fans and non-fans alike. 

Available as ebook and full colour paperback from:

Hope and Sanctuary
- Romance

Screenshot 2023-01-03 at 08.59.19.png

“Hope needs Sanctuary for her rescued animals. Farmer Grant Marshall offers her a lifeline. Can she put her principles aside to save her animals?"

Hope rescues intensive farming animals from slaughter among many others in her growing animal sanctuary, but finds herself struggling to make ends meet. Compounded by frequent flooding, a constant drain on her resources, as well as the risk it poses to her animals, Hope puts out a desperate plea on national television for help.

Grant Marshall comes to her rescue, but there’s a catch. He’s a farmer – and Hope loathes farmers.

Grant offers Hope everything she could ever desire for her sanctuary, leaving her with a dilemma – does she go against her morals and beliefs to accept his charity or will she accept his challenge that he can convince her that he is a compassionate man – in more ways than one?

All royalties for this will go to Glendrick Roost Animal Welfare Sanctuary.

Available as ebook and paperback from:

The Royale Jewels
-Romance

 

How many jewels are worth losing your heart over?

Jeweller, Julie Davies, reluctantly enters a reality TV show, and is charmed by fellow competitor, Kade Dylan – but can he be trusted? Julie has a rival for Kade’s affection – socialite and contest host, Rosemary Purcell, who has known him forever. When it becomes apparent that the jewellery-making competition isn’t all it seems, Julie has to work out what the real prize is here – and whose heart will ultimately be won.

Available as ebook and paperback from:

The Transition
-Speculative Fiction
Book 1 - Hematophagia

“Nurse infected with virus thrown into a world of secrecy and corruption.”

Vampires don’t really exist. Or do they? Oncology Nurse Maya Cassidy had seen many viruses in her time, but when she gets infected with a rare one that leaves her with the need for daily human blood to survive, she realizes that maybe fiction was based on fact after all. Thrown into a world where colonies of hemorphs (infected with vampire type virus) exist, Maya becomes embroiled in the fight to save her new boyfriend’s sister, Lily, who was kidnapped by the corrupt Walker family, before they discover the dangerous secret that lies in Lily’s blood.

The JUS SAGUINIS TRILOGY is about a potentially apocalyptic virus that has been kept a closely guarded secret for over a century, but a corrupt organisation is determined to use the virus to gain control over government bodies and people of importance.  

Available as ebook and paperback from:

Amazon

The Fix
-Crime Thriller
by M. A. Russo

thefixcovercanvabooksizeb.jpg

When a small and quiet town is hit by a wave of violent sex-crime, how can a counsellor and a witch help the local police find the perpetrator before he targets them?”

Long-listed for the Lucy Cavendish Fiction Prize 2020.

When Covenston is hit by a series of rapes, Ally and Jinny Canessa find themselves amateur detectives. Ally is a counsellor, at odds with the very attractive DI Nick Daniels, whereas Jinny joins a local coven and belie
ves spells may be the key to uncovering the perpetrator.

Evidence suggests the victims are being selected from one particular community, but the question is why? Ally and Jinny must confront harassment, homophobia – and themselves to find out. Because until they do, no woman is safe.

"Provocative and raw!" --NY Times Bestselling Author Darynda Jones

"Fans of Law and Order SVU will love this!" -- Author Louise Mullins

"Dark, Gritty and Gripping - I loved it!" -- Author Ann Bloxwich

"An exciting and gritty thriller!" --Author Alistair Birch

Available as ebook and paperback from:

The Trade
-Crime Thriller
by M. A. Russo

thetradekindle2023 ebookcover copy.jpg

“A missing girl, a town on high alert, and the Canessa sisters are accidentally caught up in another crime.”

 

 

 

A schoolgirl goes missing in Covenston, a quiet town still reeling from its serial killer, creating a new wave of panic. She reappears days later, apparently unharmed, but with no memory. Ally Canessa, police liaison counsellor, is brought in to assist the police.

 

Another girl disappears and now they have one thing in common - both girls were last seen playing Witchburbia, a new augmented reality game developed by Jinny Canessa.

 

Once again, the Canessa sisters are embroiled in a mystery that uncovers the darkest depths of small-town life.

A Canessa Sisters Thriller that can be read as a stand-alone novel.

Available as ebook and paperback from:

Remote Control-Children's Adventure
by Neet Neilson

remoteEOK5.060x7.810_135_BW_CREAM_en_US copy.jpg

Mat can go places in his dreams. Is he dreaming, or can he actually visit someplace or someone? When Mat realises he may have shared a dream with his friend, Sophie, their other friends, Ibah and Josh, also want to “meet up” in their dreams.


So, the experiments begin.


Unknowingly, the four friends stumble upon a mobile phone company’s plan to erect a new, powerful, and potentially dangerous type of phone mast – right beside their school. Using their new dream travelling skills, Mat and his friends decide to gather evidence to put a stop to the plans.


Can they really do this or are they only dreaming?

Available as ebook and paperback from:

The Gingerbread Skater Boy
By
Neet Neilson

ebookgbsbcover copy.jpg

 A delightful poem about a little Gingerbread Skater Boy as we follow his adventures as he tries to find a home on Christmas Eve.

Available as ebook and paperback from:

bottom of page